Copyright © 2015 Provincial Government of Leyte  ·  All Rights reserved
"Building a Strong and Resilient Leyte"
Quick Facts

Contact person:

Telephone Nos.:
(+63-53) 523-9925

The Provincial Governor's Office
Provincial Capitol Bldg.
Sen. Enage Street
Tacloban City 6500
Our Postal Address:

In 1521, Magellan sailed from the island of Homonhon, Samar to the island
of Limasawa, Leyte, where the first recorded blood compact was held between
Rajah Kolambu and Magellan on March 29 of the same year. Leyte was
named “Felipina” by Ruy Lopez de Villalobos, the Spanish navigator,
after King Philip of Spain, in February 1543. The name was later given
to the whole archipelago. Leyte suffered from the separate raids of
Muslims Sultans, Pagdalanum Buhiran and Kudarat, and Suluans.
Aside from the Muslim raids, Datu Bankaw of Limasawa and his son
Pagali, revolted against the Spanish conquistadors but superior
Spanish arms quelled them. In 1735, it became a politico-military
province, with Samar under its jurisdiction. Samar and Leyte were
separated in 1768. The first capital of Leyte was Carigara then
Palo, Tanauan, and finally, Tacloban. During the liberation of the
Philippines from the Japanese Imperial Forces, the American
troops led by General Douglas MacArthur and President Sergio
Osmena landed at Palo, Leyte on October 20, 1944.


A progressive Province of Leyte with empowered people, living in a sustainable environment with safer, adaptive and disaster-resilient communities and a developed agro-industry, anchored on entrepreneurship, a center and supplier of renewable energy, a leading Information and Communication Technology (ICT) service provider, and a historico-cultural tourism zone

Land Area: 5,712.80 sq. km.
     (26.66% of Eastern Visayas’ total land area of 21,431.10 sq. km.)

Three Cities (3 )
Tacloban City (HUC)
Ormoc City (Chartered)
Baybay City (Component)

40 Municipalities
     (5 congressional districts)

Number of barangays
Leyte: 1,393
Tacloban City: 138
Ormoc City: 110

Population: 2010 Census
Leyte: 1,567,984
Tacloban City: 221,174
Ormoc City: 191,200

Labor Force Participation Rate:
     67.90% - equivalent to 861,342
     (15 years old and over)

Employment Rate: 93.89%

Land Use Classification
Agricultural land: 345,067 has.
Built-up area: 33,807 has
Special Land Use: 9,721 has.
Timberland: 164.233 has.
Mangrove and Wetland: 18,452 has.
Official Website
Province of Leyte